City of Portage Government | Protecting & Serving in Portage

City of Portage Government

Protect and Serve

The City of Portage is the county seat for Columbia County, providing a range of excellent public services, such as street maintenance, refuse and recycling, library, water, public safety, and recreation. The municipal government for the City of Portage consists of a Mayor, City Administrator, Director of Business Development & Planning, and nine elected alderpersons.

Portage City Hall is located at 115 West Pleasant Street and is home to all municipal services including Municipal Court, Portage Police, and Fire Department.

City Hall is also home to many daily activities for older adults in Portage with a Lunch Bunch, where older adults can enjoy a nutritious and complete meal with others in a group while playing cards or bingo. Seniors and Law Enforcement are working together through TRIAD to enhance their quality of life, and to see that their needs are met in their community.

Just a few blocks from City Hall is the Portage Public Library, located at 253 West Edgewater Street. The facility has a large public meeting room, additional internet access, electronic resources, a book drop, and offers a wide variety of programming for all ages.

Historic Portage Where the North Begins sign
Portage Public Library

Important Numbers

City Hall
115 W. Pleasant St.

Portage Fire Department
119 W. Pleasant St.

Portage Police Department
117 W. Pleasant St.

Park, Recreation &
Forestry Department

701 W. Slifer St.

Water Department
135 Northridge Dr.

Portage Public Library
253 W. Edgewater St.

Portage Municipal Airport
1011 Spring Lake Dr.

Columbia County Sheriff’s Department
711 East Cook St.

Columbia County Courthouse
400 DeWitt St.

Columbia County Government Administration Building
112 East Edgewater St.